A Week Into It

NaNoWriMo continues…

My students are working toward their goals and I do my best to lead by example. I am up to 19,000 words. Not bad for nine days work. It feels like an accomplishment. I’ve got a long way to go.

My story unfolds on a daily basis. The words come, but I have a nagging suspicions that it’s a pile of, well, you know. I can’t dwell on that. I just have to keep going. I know I will have to go back and straighten things up, make it readable, maybe just rewrite it completely, but for now it really is something to be working toward a goal of 50,000 words. It’s an arbitrary goal. The most important thing about writing is that the work is good or at least represents your best effort at the time not how long the piece is in the end. It will. For now it is a story, thin in some places and overly verbose in others. I can live with it.

An interesting incident occurred today. I wrote the following sentence:

I was quite shocked to see that our boat was lying on its side just a few yards away.

The Microsoft Word Autocorrect underlined the word “lying.” So, I right-clicked and it suggested “laying.” This is one of those conundrums that I have yet to master. It is similar, but far more vexing than the “further/farther” issue, which my dad once explained in a perfectly illuminating manner, though I now feel somewhat hazy on the subject. Regardless, when I inserted “laying” to replace “lying,” guess what happened?

Yep! Good old MS once again indicated that there was a grammatical error in my sentence. I feel as though I may have stumbled upon some sort of English language endless loop of grammar-gone-wrong. I’m not about to be bothered by it, but I thought it was interesting. I’ve never seen that before. Normally MS Word is so sure of itself.

One thought on “A Week Into It

  1. I have a simple solution to the whole lie/lay quandary: find the proofing options in Word and turn off the grammar check
    (you can always turn it back on again in December)
    Have a happy NaNo!

Leave a Reply

