Crazy Time

I’m not sure anyone is aware of it, but it’s a crazy time out there right now.

I’m not talking about the hurricane, though it’s horrible, (and no laughing matter), but that’s not what I mean. No, I’m talking something bigger! Do you realize what happens next week? It’s probably one of the biggest moments of this year or any year. It sets us on a course that is unstoppable, at least until next spring. You got it now? You with me?

Good. Let me take a moment to ease into it, though. It need to vacuum out my brain before I start writing that November novel. So, please forgive my scatter-shot blog blather below.

I’m all hopped up on Halloween. I think it’s a contact high from my kids. Halloween isn’t until tomorrow, but they are ready. READY! And I’m just trying hold on for the ride.

I’ve got blue toenails on my right foot at the moment. It’s not a condition. They were painted. And that’s okay, except that at the kids’ swim lessons today I couldn’t make myself take off my shoes. I felt like a knob sitting there with shoes on at an indoor pool, but how am I supposed to explain the nails. I mean it would be one thing if all ten of my piggies were sporting paint, but they ain’t. It would be difficult to fend off the strange looks. I didn’t have the stomach for it. So, I watched through a window and thought about NaNoWriMo. Well, that and my son’s inexplicable crying while in the pool.

I got shocked the other day while repairing a light switch. I wonder if it was my dad? Maybe I was just being careless.

How in the hell do you get a puppy to stop peeing in the house!?!?

I am itching to start my novel, but I have to wait until Thursday, November 1st. That’s the rules, I think. I feel shot through with ideas and excitement. I hope it holds out. I just can’t figure out where to begin. (At the beginning?) I’m thinking that it must be the plane. Or perhaps the sailboat. I don’t know. It will come to me and I will start writing.

Anyway, next week is a big deal. Maybe not here in Arizona, but definitely for the rest of the country.** It’s going to be intense. It always is. I mean, change is always hard. Of course, we’re used to it. This kind of thing happens pretty regularly around here. Like clockwork, almost. Still, you never know how you’re going to feel until you wake up the morning after. So, don’t forget that Sunday, November 4 is the end of Daylight Savings Time. Set those clocks back an hour, people, and good luck!

Oh, you might want to be sure and vote on Tuesday too.

**Most of the state of Arizona does not observe Daylight Savings Time.

5 thoughts on “Crazy Time

  1. Not fair! Some people get a whole extra hour for NaNo in November? That means that technically they get 30.042 days when the rest of us only get 30 days straight. (In Britain the clocks went back last week). That hour could be make or break! Best of luck with your NaNo!

  2. WTF! You totally had me going! Of course I assumed you were talking about THE ELECTION, but when you threw in the comment about daylight savings time I thought for a half a second that you were serious! I totally laughed out loud! As for tomorrow, I must see the Paige inspired production on your toes (I hope!). As usual, I saw the post and couldn’t wait to read it. Puryear

    • I guess, to answer your question, I am comfortable enough with myself to allow my toenails to be painted, but occasionally subject to moments of self-doubt, which cause me to quickly lower and fold my freak-flag. Thanks for asking. And thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

