Planning

As noted in an earlier post, I have decided to attempt the NaNoWriMo challenge.

NaNoWriMo, if you don’t know, stands for National Novel Writing Month. During the month of November people from all over the world attempt to write a novel of at least 50,000 words or more. This year, I’m going for it. I’ve never tried it. I’ve written a few novels, but never in a single month. So, this’ll be my first time. Not only that, I’ve invited, cajoled, and demanded that every 6th grader in my school try this as well. Now, don’t be alarmed, students are able to choose their own word count, so they aren’t on the hook for thousands of words, but who knows? Maybe they’ll start writing and they won’t be able to stop and they will write 50 or 60 grand easy!!!

We have started planning with the wonderfully useful “Writer’s Workbook” provided online by the Office of Letters & Light, official sponsors of NaNoWriMo. We’re all making some progress on our characters, conflict, and plot. It’s got me thinking and I’ve got a story in mind.

I can’t say much now, but it’s got me wondering about a few things…

How come witches and wicked stepmothers from old fairy-tales always seem to have so much in common? Is it because they are really one and the same? Are these just stereotypes going back for centuries? If so, why do they still hold so true most of the time? Why is it that I feel compelled to write about an evil stepmother?

It’s been done, hasn’t it?

I just can’t help myself.

Every hero needs a foil!

So be it.

4 thoughts on “Planning

Leave a Reply

