The State I’m In

Of course, the state I’m in is Arizona. Bah-da-bomp!!! But seriously, folks…

I’m OK. Recent personal events have really knocked me back on my heels, but I’m OK, I swear. Emotionally, at least.

My problem is that I’ve been finding it hard to locate anything that remotely resembles the motivation to write. I just haven’t been able to force myself to sit down and do it. It’s probably another excuse, another way to justify NOT writing, but with the death of my father following so closely after the death of my nephew, well it’s sort of difficult to feel that there is anything important to say. At least there’s nothing more important than family and that is who I have been spending a lot of time with, so that’s the deal.

I’m half-numb and feeling apathetic toward the craft I love/hate. This post is a way to get back on the horse. I have a lot of work to do on various pieces, but I just have not found a way to get going.

What am I doing right now?

Well, I suppose I am just falling back on that old, and cliché, axiom that a writer should write what they know. I usually start with what I know, but the questions that arise ALWAYS lead to better fiction. Yet this morning I am just going to jot some thoughts down onto the fake paper of this blog and let her rip!

To go with my old/new direction of writing what I know I have decided to write a form of advice column. Since I am a teacher and it is summertime and I am apparently unable to forget about my profession for a minute, even though I should be enjoying one of the benefits of my job, I have determined that I will share the little knowledge I have on the topic. There are bound to be hundreds of new educators prepping and planning and sweating it out as they wait for a new year to begin. I guess I’m going to give them a piece of my mind, (strictly tongue in cheek!)

See you there.

(See, those 357 words weren’t so hard to write, were they?)

Leave a Reply

