Milestone or Fencepost?

Today is the first day of the rest of my blah, blah, blah.

First agent submission this morning. That’s right, agents, I’m coming for you! It was time. I’ve worked hard on this manuscript. Is it perfect? No. But what is? It is the best story right now. I felt that it was time to get in the game and stop sitting in the parking lot telling myself that I could do it if I only had the chance.

Really, I could do it if I just…

No more coulda, shoulda, wouldas!

I mean, do I really expect that some literary agent is going to stumble across this blog and say, “Wow! Just what I’ve been looking for!”?

And can I win the lottery if I don’t buy tickets as well?

I’m not going to kid myself. I’m quite sure this will be uncomfortable. I’m going t0 hear things I don’t want to hear, but I will press forward and take my lumps. It’s okay if I don’t find success right off the bat. I know that. It is strange to willfully put yourself in a situation that sets you up for devastating failure and criticism. I still have a few letters from record companies saying that the band I was in back in the day was “Not right for us at this time,” or that they were “Looking for something different.” Yet, those letters don’t seem all that devastating now. So, if the word is “No Thanks” I’m okay with that. You never know unless you try.

Right?

To quote Tommy Boy again, “It’s go time!”

2 thoughts on “Milestone or Fencepost?

Leave a Reply

