Reading

As an author reading is fundamental, but it also presents somewhat of a problem in my mind.

I go back and forth between fits of reading everything I can get my hands on to periods when I just don’t want to read anything except for magazines. It’s not that I don’t like reading. I love it! That’s the problem. I could eat up an entire day finishing a 400 page novel, easy. Books are like little gifts that allow us to travel into other worlds, but there are times when I feel like reading too much may hinder my writing or that a story may color my style. (What style?!)

That’s just superstitious and silly, I know. Yet, it’s something that invades my thoughts quite often. Really, though, I think it’s just guilt, because if I’m reading, I’m not writing. I don’t know. I should just try to find a balance, right?

Anyway, this week I’ve read two amazing middle-grade books that are totally beyond me in content and style. The Dark Life by Kat Falls and The Search for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi are both futuristic/sci-fi novels. Each story describes a world far into the future with such detail and clarity that it is a little frightening to even imagine. Yet, these books moved me in ways that I never imagined they would when I first picked them up. I hope I can do that someday. These novels also gave me inspiration because, though they are not stories I would write currently, they clearly illustrate how great details and realistic characters can pull you into a story, even when you aren’t necessarily interested in the genre.

And yes, with all that reading this week that means that I was not writing a lot. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

